Friday, December 13, 2019

Brightblade (The Morgan Detective Agency, Book 1) by C. T. Phipps & Michael Suttkus and narrated by Heather Costa

Brightblade (The Morgan Detective Agency, Book 1) by C. T. Phipps & Michael Suttkus and narrated by Heather Costa is an entertaining start to a new series. Recommend if you are looking for something new in the genre or looking for an additional book to the authors’ worlds. If you enjoy pop-culture snark/books that will bring out your inner nerd, these authors are a must-listen/read. For reals...

Where to purchase: 

What’s it about? After many endeavors, Ashley is currently a bounty hunter for supes. She is also a bright (psychic).While bringing an ancient magical sword to a bank for safe keeping, the bank is attacked by a trio of supes. While attempting to hunt down the magical item the supes stold, Ashley’s life becomes more complicated when her long lost brother and ex show up. She also has Zadkiel, the Angel of Mercy, talking to her telepathically. From there, the book picks up the pace and is go-go-go. There’s pop-culture references mixed with unique humor, along with characters from the other books in the universe (Charles and Michael, we must come up with a name for your universe if there isn’t one- now accepting submissions?). The book also delves into prejudices, which are cleverly written in.

The couple issues I had:
1) It took me a little longer than normal to get into this book, but may be due to the other issue listed below. If you find yourself saying meh at first, stick with it and you won’t be disappointed.
2) There’s a lot of information/new characters, if you’re not familiar with some of the other series tied to this universe, you might be a little lost, so pay close attention (I’ve only ventured into the Bright Falls Mysteries). I’d like to see a character index/world history as an accompanying PDF for this audible book- the ebook has a foreword which helps a little. Here’s what the ebook says:
“For those picking up Brightblade as the first novel of the shared universe, a short summary of the world: It is the year 2018 and the supernatural has been out for roughly ten years. Vampires, shifters, fairies, and more are known to the public with the state of Michigan being where the majority have congregated.
Detroit has been rebuilt with vampire money in to the Las Vegas-esque tourist trap New Detroit (original, I know). It isn’t a paradise, though, because the supernatural factions behind the scenes are always scheming against one another while the government debates revoking the citizenship of its inhuman citizenry. You can read about the adventures of characters during this time period in Straight Out of Fangton as well as the Bright Falls Mysteries.
Prior to the Reveal in 2008, the supernatural was kept hidden from the public by an alliance of wizards and secret agents called the House. Their activities were ruthless, duplicitous, and ultimately doomed. A prequel trilogy of books detailed the slow revelation of the supernatural, despite the House’s efforts in Esoterrorism, Eldritch Ops, and The Fall of the House. These are collectively known as the Red Room series.”

The narrator, Heather Costa, did a lovely job with each character. She is easy to listen to, steady pace, and absolutely adds to the book.

Where to find the authors: C.T. Phipps and Michael Suttkus
Where to find the narrator: Heather Costa

*I was given a free review copy of the audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. Thank you for allowing me to listen and review the book!

No comments:

Post a Comment